Jan
18
2012
By Finn
3 min to read
Location
Ireland
53° 30' 29.7252" N, 8° 50' 38.3784" W
See map: Google Maps
IE
Eachtra are currently in the process of excavating a number of human remains in Toberjarlath townland on the eastern edges of Tuam, in Co. Galway. Remains were first discovered in a trench excavated by Coffey Group in order to insert a new watermain as part of the ongoing works associated with the Tuam Town Water Supply Scheme. The trench was located in the middle of the road at the junction between the Athenry Road and the Dublin Road Housing Estate.
Following consultation between Eachtra and The Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht a mitigation strategy was agreed with both Coffey’s and Galway County Council who are supervising the Scheme. It was agreed that a small area measuring 5 m x 6 m across the area of disturbance for two proposed pipeline trenches would be excavated and any human remains would be fully recorded and removed.
The remains of eleven individuals have been excavated to date. They have all been contained within discrete grave cuts and evidence for the use of coffins is attested to by coffin nails found alongside the burials. They are also all consistently orientated north/south – with the head to the north. In three cases two burials have been contained within the same grave cut but apparently placed in separate coffins.

We have kept in close in contact with Tony Claffey, the author of the Tuam edition of the Irish Historic Town Atlas (a fabulous series published the Royal Irish Academy), throughout our monitoring and excavation works on the Tuam Town Water Supply Scheme. Tony kindly offered some historical detail about the Workhouse and unearthed an intriguing nugget from a report written by Maurice Laheen on the History of Ballymote burial ground under the auspices of FÁS in 2003-2004. The Workhouse was built in 1841 and opened in 1846 with accommodation for 800 paupers. Tuam was very badly affected by famine in 1822 and again in the 1840s. Laheen records that the Tuam Herald reported in February 1848 that ‘at least 2,000 unfortunates were waiting in front of the Workhouse at Dublin Road on a Monday hoping to gain admission’.


Excavation work will continue this week and it is projected that all of the burials within the small excavation area will have been removed for analysis by next week. The excavations are currently being undertaken by a small four person team of dedicated, experienced archaeologists (David O’Reilly, Ann Bingham, Brendan Kelly and Ray O’Riordain). The team is following established best practice guidelines for the excavation of human remains and are also striving to afford a certain dignity to the remains of those likely to have perished during a time of great hardship.
Blog category: